Recipe: Pumpkin Puree

pumpkin puree

Pumpkin purée

In November-December, I had a time when I was eating pumpkin purée every morning for breakfast. It is delicious, easy to make, healthy and really consistent. As usual, I wasn’t really measuring any ingredients, but I will try and give some approximate quantities.

Ingredients:

  • 125g of pumpkin
  • 50g of oatmeal
  • 50 ml of milk (any kind, I also used almond & soja milk)
  • sugar

Preparing the pumpkin:

  1. You need to roast the pumpkin in the oven. Preheat the oven at 150-200°C . I usually buy half a kilo of pumpkin that is already cleared of seeds. I would cut half of it (250g) in smaller slices, put them on a baking sheet, and then in the oven for around 30 minutes. Check it from time to time – the pumpkin has to be soft.
  2. These 250g of pumpkin would last for 2 breakfasts, and the other 250g I would put in the fridge and roast later for another 2 breakfasts.
  3. I usually roast the pumpkin the night before, so that the next morning, preparing the purée doesn’t take long.

Preparing the purée:

  1. Take half of the slices of roasted pumpkin (aprox. 125g) and remove the peel.
  2. Boil (or microwave) the milk with the oatmeal until the oatmeal gets soft.
  3. Add the milk & oatmeal together with the pumpkin and some sugar to the blender and mix.
  4.  Enjoy 🙂

Don’t forget to follow me!

Facebook / Twitter / Pinterest /Instagram /Bloglovin

6 thoughts on “Recipe: Pumpkin Puree

Leave a Reply

